Posts Tagged ‘nominations’

Gallery: The Philips British Academy Television Awards nominations

Tuesday, April 26th, 2011

It’s time again for the Philips BAFTA TV awards nominations and it seems C4 is doing rather well for itself.

E4 drama Misfits has received more nominations than any other programme in the shortlist – four in total, in the Best Drama Series, Best Supporting Actor and Actress (Robert Sheehan and Lauren Socha) and New Media categories.

In the Features and Factual Series categories Channel 4 dominated proceedings, receiving half of the nominations for each, and in the Single Documentary category two out of the four nominations went to films from the More4 True Stories Strand.

Both David Mitchell (Peep Show) and James Buckley (The Inbetweeners) were nominated for Male Performance in a comedy programme, and Katherine Parkinson (The IT Crowd) was nominated for Female Performance in a Comedy Programme. Facejacker and Peep Show were nominated respectively in the Comedy Programme, and Situation Comedy categories.

However, the BEEB is also doing well. Firstly Jessie Wallace has been nominated but not for her role in Eastenders. The actress, who plays feisty Kat Moon in the BBC soap, swapped her loyalties last year to take a role about the soap’s arch rival. But she wasn’t actually in Corrie – she was starring in the BBC docudrama The Road to Coronation Street. It is her part portraying Corrie legend Pat Phoenix that has won her the Best Supporting Actress nod.

Matt Smith is also flying the flag for the Beeb. The Doctor Who actor who is now in his second series of playing the Timelord – has been nominated in the Leading Actor category of the Philips TV Bafta awards for his role in the hit BBC sci-fi drama Doctor Who.

Smith faces stiff competition from Sherlock’s Benedict Cumberbatch, Any Human Heart actor Jim Broadbent and Daniel Rigby for his role in Eric and Ernie.

None of the previous Doctors – including David Tennant, Christopher Eccleston and Sylvester McCoy – have ever been awarded the same recognition.

The Philips British Academy Television Awards will be held on May 22.

See the gallery below for a few of the nominees.


The Closer star Kyra Sedgwick speaks out against Emmy nominees announcing the nominations

Wednesday, September 26th, 2007


It’s an odd system they’ve got going over at the Emmy awards, with possible nominees enlisted by organisers to announce the contenders. The Closer actress Kyra Sedgwick was thrilled to be nominated for the best actress in a drama category this year, but as the announcer found the circumstance of reading out her own name rather distressing. “It was odd announcing the nominees and I didn’t know if I was nominated, which was a little stressful and kind of wrong. What if I hadn’t been nominated? Maybe I would’ve cried or maybe thrown up, something really lovely like that.”

Thankfully Mrs. Kevin Bacon didn’t feel the need to vomit or blub, but her comments are a sly dig at the event’s organisers for putting her in that awkward situation. Should the Emmy nominations be announced by potential nominees and if not, who else should step in? Hollywood has-beens that provide a familiar face but pose no threat of being nominated or the suits behind the shindig? How would the industry have reacted if Kyra had lost it ‘big-style’ if her name had not been featured and was it a modest under-appreciation of her chances that saw her accept the gig or was it a star seeking more self-publicity? As always, leave a comment and let us know what you think.

[via Contact Music]